Bangladesh Facts | All information about Bangladesh

official name is the .

Basic Information

is the capital of .

Where is Located ?

is located in the continent.

Facts :

  • Name:
  • Official Name:
  • Capital:
  • Continent:
  • Langues:

People’s Republic of Bangladesh is a sovereign state in the South Asia. It forms the biggest and eastern part the ethno-linguistic region of Bengal. They country situated at the apex of the Bay of Bengal, bordered by India and Myanmar and is alienated from Nepal and Bhutan by the narrow Siliguri Corridor.


It is the world’s eighth-most populated country, with a population of 180 million that is also the fifth-most populated country in Asia and the third-most populated Muslim-majority country. The mother tongue of the country is Bangla, is also one of their official languages.

The Bengali language is the seventh most oral language in the world, which also shares with the Indian states of West Bengal, Tripura and Assam.

The geography of Bangladesh is separated between three regions. For the most part of this country is dominated by fertile Ganges-Brahmaputra delta. The central and northwest parts of the country are created by the Madhupur and the Barind plateaus. The southeast and northeast are home to evergreen hill ranges. Bangladesh is predominately wealthy fertile flat land. Most parts of the country are less than 12 m or 39.4 feet above the sea level. A big part of haor wetlands are of major importance to global environmental science.

For the first time, the Bangladeshi flag was hoisted on 23 March 1971, Pakistan’s Republic Day. During the liberation war in 1971, Bengali peoples declared the independence and created the Mukti Bahini which is called the Bangladeshi National Liberation Army. The liberation war was enduring for nine months and ended after the surrender of Pakistan’s military to the Bangladesh and India Allied Forces on the memorable day of 16 December 1971.

Bangladesh Weather

Bangladesh has a torrid monsoon type of weather differentiated by broad seasonal variations in high temperatures, rainy summer and humidity. There are three different seasons in Bangladesh such as: high temperatures, humid summer generally from March to June; rainfall, monsoon season from June to October; and cool, a dry winter from October to March.

Usually, maximum summer temperatures differentiate between 30°C and 40°C. The warmest month is April in the most parts of the country. The coldest month is January and the average temperature for most part of the country is about 10°-12°C.

Monsoon is characteristic of Bangladesh. The annual rainfall of the western region of Rajshahi is about 1600 mm where most of other parts of the country receive at least 2000 mm of rainfall per year.

The reason of low rainfall is its location which just south of the foothills of the Himalayas, wherever monsoon winds turned northwest and west, the parts in northeastern in Bangladesh gains the greatest average rainfall, occasionally over 4000 mm per year. About 80% of the country’s rain falls occurs during the monsoon season.

List of Cities in Bangladesh

Bangladesh Bureau of Statistics stated that the administrative areas which have a minimum population of 100,000 (one lac) will be count as a city in Bangladesh and the administrative areas which have population of below 100,000 (one lac) will be consider as towns.

The list of cities and towns in Bangladesh has given below:

  • Dhaka Division
    1. Dhaka
    2. Narsingdi
    3. Gazipur
    4. Shariatpur
    5. Narayanganj
    6. Tangail
    7. Kishoreganj
    8. Manikganj
    9. Munshiganj
    10. Rajbari
    11. Madaripur
    12. Gopalganj
    13. Faridpur
  • Chittagong Division
    1. Comilla
    2. Feni
    3. Brahmanbaria
    4. Rangamati
    5. Noakhali
    6. Chandpur
    7. Lakshmipur
    8. Chittagong
    9. Coxsbazar
    10. Khagrachhari
    11. Bandarban
  • Rajshahi Division
    1. Sirajganj
    2. Pabna
    3. Bogra
    4. Rajshahi
    5. Natore
    6. Joypurhat
    7. Chapainawabganj
    8. Naogaon
  • Khulna Division
    1. Jessore
    2. Satkhira
    3. Meherpur
    4. Narail
    5. Chuadanga
    6. Kushtia
    7. Magura
    8. Khulna
    9. Bagerhat
    10. Jhenaidah
  • Barisal Division
    1. Jhalakathi
    2. Patuakhali
    3. Pirojpur
    4. Barisal
    5. Bhola
    6. Barguna
  • Sylhet Division
    1. Sylhet
    2. Moulvibazar
    3. Habiganj
    4. Sunamganj
  • Rangpur Division
    1. Panchagarh
    2. Dinajpur
    3. Lalmonirhat
    4. Nilphamari
    5. Gaibandha
    6. Thakurgaon
    7. Rangpur
    8. Kurigram
  • Mymensingh Division
    1. Sherpur
    2. Mymensingh
    3. Jamalpur
    4. Netrokona


  1. Bangladesh Location Map | Where Is Bangladesh Located
    1. Bangladesh Location Map
    2. Google Map of Bangladesh
    3. Large detailed map of Bangladesh with cities
    4. Bangladesh physical map
    5. Tourist map of Bangladesh
    6. Administrative map of divisions in Bangladesh
    7. Administrative map of districts in Bangladesh
    8. Bangladesh political map
    9. Road Map of Bangladesh
    10. Physiographic map of Bangladesh with national parks
  2. Flag of Bangladesh
  3. Best Travel Zones in Bangladesh
  4. Population of Bangladesh
  5. Languages of Bangladesh
  6. List of Banks in Bangladesh
  7. Bangladesh Holidays
  8. Education 
    1. PSC exam Result
    2. JSC Exam Result
    3. SSC Exam Result
    4. HSC Exam Result