Map of Mississippi | Mississippi State Map

Mississippi, often referred to as the “Magnolia State,” is located in the southeastern region of the United States. It is bordered by Tennessee to the north, Alabama to the east, the Gulf of Mexico to the south, and Louisiana and Arkansas to the west. The state has a diverse landscape, featuring lush forests, fertile plains, and a vast coastline along the Gulf of Mexico. Mississippi covers an area of approximately 48,430 square miles (125,443 square kilometers), making it the 32nd largest state in the country.

Political Map of Mississippi

Mississippi’s political border is defined by its neighboring states:

The western border with Louisiana is primarily defined by the Mississippi River, while the eastern border with Alabama follows the Tombigbee River for part of the way. The Gulf of Mexico forms the southern boundary of the state, providing Mississippi with numerous coastal towns and attractions.

Physical Features Mississippi State Map

The physical map of Mississippi is characterized by a variety of features, including:

Why is Mississippi called the “Magnolia State”?

Mississippi is nicknamed the “Magnolia State” due to the abundance of magnolia trees and blossoms found throughout the region.

What is the capital of Mississippi and some major cities in the state?

Jackson is the capital of Mississippi. Other major cities in the state include Gulfport, Southaven, Hattiesburg, Biloxi, and Meridian.

Exit mobile version