Time Zone Map of North America | North American Time Zones

Time Zone Map of North America | North American Time Zones

Time is a fundamental aspect of our daily lives, and understanding the time zones that govern different regions is crucial for coordinating activities, travel, and communication. In North America, a vast continent with diverse landscapes and numerous countries, time zones play a vital role in synchronizing schedules. The Time Zone Map of North America is Called Central Time Zone (CT) Map. It is used by North American countries Canada, the United States, Mexico, Central America, some Caribbean Islands, and part of the Eastern Pacific Ocean. Most North American countries have only a one-time zone for the entire country, so the time across the country is the same.

Printable Time Zone Map of North America

The Basics of Time Zones

Before we dive into the specifics of the North America Time Zone Map, let’s establish a foundation of understanding. Time zones are divisions of the Earth’s surface, each encompassing a range of longitudes, with a standard time used within that zone. The primary purpose of time zones is to maintain consistency and avoid confusion caused by variations in time as one travels across different regions.

The North America Time Zone Map

North America is covered by several time zones, stretching from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific and beyond. The continent includes countries like the United States, Canada, Mexico, and various territories. Let’s explore the primary time zones within North America:

a) Eastern Standard Time (EST):

  • UTC Offset: UTC-5
  • Regions: Eastern United States, parts of Canada’s eastern provinces.
  • UTC Offset: UTC-6

b) Central Standard Time (CST):

  • Regions: Central United States, parts of Canada, Mexico.
  • UTC Offset: UTC-7

c) Mountain Standard Time (MST):

  • Regions: Mountain states in the United States, parts of Canada and Mexico.
  • UTC Offset: UTC-8

d) Pacific Standard Time (PST):

  • Regions: West Coast of the United States, parts of Canada and Mexico.
  • UTC Offset: UTC-9

e) Alaska Standard Time (AKST):

  • Regions: Alaska (excluding the Aleutian Islands).
  • UTC Offset: UTC-10

f) Hawaii-Aleutian Standard Time (HST):

  • Regions: Hawaii, the westernmost Aleutian Islands.

g) Atlantic Standard Time (AST):

Daylight Saving Time

It’s important to note that some regions within the North America Time Zone Map observe Daylight Saving Time (DST), a practice where clocks are adjusted forward by one hour during the summer months. This adjustment allows for longer daylight hours in the evenings. However, not all regions in North America observe DST uniformly, so it’s essential to be aware of the specific rules for each location.

Lists of the North American Time Zones

AbbreviationFull nameOther abbreviationsTimezone
NSTNewfoundland Standard TimeHNTUTC – 3:30 hours
NDTNewfoundland Daylight TimeHATUTC – 2:30 hours
ASTAtlantic Standard TimeHNAUTC – 4 hours
ADTAtlantic Daylight TimeHAAUTC – 3 hours
ESTEastern Standard TimeHNEUTC – 5 hours
EDTEastern Daylight TimeHAEUTC – 4 hours
CSTCentral Standard TimeHNCUTC – 6 hours
CDTCentral Daylight TimeHACUTC – 5 hours
MSTMountain Standard TimeHNRUTC – 7 hours
MDTMountain Daylight TimeHARUTC – 6 hours
PSTPacific Standard TimeHNPUTC – 8 hours
PDTPacific Daylight TimeHAPUTC – 7 hours
AKSTAlaska Standard TimeHNYUTC – 9 hours
AKDTAlaska Daylight TimeHAYUTC – 8 hours
HASTHawaii-Aleutian Standard TimeHSTUTC – 10 hours
HADTHawaii-Aleutian Daylight TimeUTC – 9 hours

How Many Time Zones In North America?

There are six designated US time zones, and there are four time zones in the contiguous USA. De facto Eastern Time often is used as the USA official time. UTC-06:00 Central Time Zone, the largest one by area.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TOPICS >   | Maps | Fokhrul