State Capital Of Arkansas

State Capital Of Arkansas

Little Rock Is The State Capital Of Arkansas. It Is Also The Most Populous City Of U.S. State of Arkansas. As the county seat of Pulaski County, the city was incorporated on November 7, 1831. It is located on the south bank of the Arkansas River close to the state’s geographic center. The Arkansas State Capital city derives its name from a rock formation along the river, named the “Little Rock” (French: La Petite Roche) by the French explorer Jean-Baptiste Bénard de la Harpe in the 1720s.

The State Capital of Arkansas Territory was moved to Little Rock from Arkansas Post in 1821. The State Capital Of Arkansas population Was 198,541 in 2016 According to Census Bureau. The Arkansas State Capital Little Rock is a cultural, economic, government, and transportation center within Arkansas and the South. Several cultural institutions are in Little Rock, such as the Arkansas Arts Center, the Arkansas Repertory Theatre.

Arkansas State Capital Little Rock lies in the humid subtropical climate zone, with hot, humid summers and cool winters, with usually little snow. It has experienced temperatures as low as −12 °F (−24 °C), which was recorded on February 12, 1899, and as high as 114 °F (46 °C), which was recorded on August 3, 2011.

The Arkansas State Capital has operated under the city manager form of government since November 1957. In 1993, voters approved changes from seven at-large city directors (who rated the position of mayor among themselves) to a popularly elected mayor, seven ward directors, and three at-large directors. The position and honor of mayor remained a part-time position until August 2007.


Profile Of Little Rock, Arkansas:

Founded: June 1, 1821

Incorporated (town): November 7, 1831

Incorporated (city): November 2, 1835

Reason For Named: French: La Petite Roche (The “Little Rock”)


  • Type: Council-manager
  • Mayor: Frank Scott Jr. (D)
  • Council: Little Rock Board of Directors


  • State capital and city: 122.02 sq mi (316.03 km2)
  • Land: 119.22 sq mi (308.77 km2)
  • Water: 2.80 sq mi (7.26 km2)
  • Metro: 4,090.34 sq mi (10,593.94 km2)

Population (2010):

  • State capital and city: 193,524
  • Estimate (2017): 198,606
  • Rank US: 117th
  • Density: 1,665.93/sq mi (643.22/km2)
  • Urban: 431,388 (US: 88th)
  • Metro: 738,344 (US: 78th)


USA physical map The main objective of the USA physical map is to show landforms, rivers and oceans, geographical features, mountains and
Best Places to Visit in USA The best tourist places in USA are most visited and most loved places to see in the United States. Over […]
Tourist map of USA The tourist map of USA designed for tourists and travelers. In the features of the tourist map of USA, tourists [&hellip
USA political map The USA political map shows the boundaries of countries as well as major parts of water, major cities and major [&hellip
USA Airports Map The USA airports map represents the location of various airports in different states of USA. So that, viewers can gather
USA River Map The USA River Map representing various rivers, lakes and water bodies across the country. The lake system of the USA [&h
USA Cities Map The USA cities map shows main cities in the United States. The map also represents the volume of population of […
USA Lat Long Map The USA Lat Long Map shows the latitude and longitude of each location. Viewers can trace any location position easily [
Flag of USA The national flag of USA consists of thirteen equivalent horizontal stripes of red at the top and bottom alternating wit
Physiographic map of USA with national parks The Physiographic map of USA shows mountain ranges, valley, national parks and other physical features of different regi