State Capital Of Hawaii

State Capital Of Hawaii

Honolulu Is the State Capital Of Hawaii and Largest City of the U.S. State of Hawaii. Honolulu is an unincorporated part of and the county seat of the City and County of Honolulu along the southeast coast of the island of Oʻahu. Hawaii State Capital has extended about 10 miles (16 km) along the southeastern shore of Oahu Island and 4 miles (6 km) inland across a plain into the foothills of the Koolau Range.

The Honolulu City is the crossroads of trans-Pacific shipping and air routes, the focus of interisland services, and the commercial and industrial center of the state. Hawaii State Capital Honolulu means “sheltered harbor”, The old name is Kou, a district roughly encompassing the area from Nuʻuanu Avenue to Alakea Street and from Hotel Street to Queen Street which is the heart of the present downtown district.

According to History, human settlement on the site of State Capital Of Hawaii can be traced back to the 11th century, when ancient Polynesians migrated from neighboring islands. The city Honolulu has been the capital of the Hawaiian Islands since 1845 and gained historical recognition following the attack on Pearl Harbor by Japan near the city on December 7, 1941.

The entire State Capital Of Hawaii Honolulu covers an area of 68.4 square miles, 60.5 square miles of which island, and 7.9 square miles of water. The Hawaii State Capital lies on the island’s coastline and borders the Pacific Ocean. The nearest mainland location to Honolulu is located 2,045 nautical miles away, making the city the most remote major city in the world. Downtown the State Capital Of Hawaii Honolulu is home to the seat of government of Hawaii and is the commercial and economic center of the city.



Incorporated: April 30, 1907


  • Mayor: Kirk Caldwell (D)
  • Council: Members


  • City: 68.4 sq mi (177.2 km2)
  • Land: 60.5 sq mi (156.7 km2)
  • Water: 7.9 sq mi (20.5 km2)

Elevation: 19 ft (6 m)

Population: (2010)

  • City: 337,256 (55th)
  • Estimate (2017): 359,870
  • Density: 5,791/sq mi (2,236.1/km2)
  • Metro: 953,207


Facts About Honolulu:

  1. The state of Hawaii consists of eight main islands: Niihau, Kauai, Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe and the Big Island of Hawaii.
  2. Honolulu has one of the largest concentrations of Buddhist temples in the Western world, with over 30 spread through the city.
  3. Honolulu’s home island, Oahu, is part of the largest mountain range in the world–most of which is underwater.