State Capital Of Maryland

State Capital Of Maryland

Annapolis Is The State Capital Of Maryland. Annapolis is not only the capital of Maryland but also the county seat of Anne Arundel County. The city is located on the Chesapeake Bay, south of the state’s largest city of Baltimore and east of nation’s capital, Washington, D.C. The city forms part of the larger Baltimore-Washington Metropolitan Area. According to the 2010 census, Maryland State Capital Annapolis has a population of about 38,400 people, which includes 16,200 households, and about 8,700 families occupying 17,845 housing units. Between 1783 and 1784, the city was the Continental Congress’ seat and also hosted the 1786 Annapolis Convention.

State Capital Of Maryland Annapolis is located about 25 miles south of the largest city in Maryland, Baltimore, while the capital Washington, D.C. is about 30 miles east. It is closer than any other US state capital to Washington, D.C., the nation’s capital. Maryland State Capital Annapolis forms part of the Atlantic Coastal Plain. It is a relatively flat city, and most of its area is less than 50 feet above sea level. The city covers an area of about 8.10 square miles, of which 7.18 square miles is land, while water covers 0.92 square miles.

The administration system of State Capital Annapolis is a weak mayor system. The city council is composed of 8 aldermen who are elected from the single-member ward, and the mayor is elected directly by the residents of Annapolis. Maryland State Capital Annapolis hosts the governor’s office, state legislature, and appellate courts. However, other state administrative offices and departments are located in Baltimore.

Annapolis has a highly diversified economy characterized by manufacturing and service industries. Its closeness to Washington, D.C. makes it one of the state capitals with the highest household incomes in the US. Top employers in State Capital Of Maryland Annapolis include the Home Depot, US Naval Academy, Verizon Maryland, and Constellation Energy. City schools are managed by the Anne Arundel County Public School System. Annapolis hosts some institutions with a rich history of Maryland and the United States. The Maryland State House is the US oldest legislative in use today and was where the Paris Peace Treaty was signed.


Founded: 1649

Incorporated: 1708

Named for: Princess Anne of Denmark & Norway


  • Mayor Gavin Buckley
  • City Council


  • Total: 8.11 sq mi (21.01 km2)
  • Land: 7.21 sq mi (18.67 km2)
  • Water: 0.91 sq mi (2.34 km2)

Elevation: 39 ft (12 m)

Population (2010):

  • Total: 38,394
  • Estimate (2017): 39,321
  • Density: 5,455.19/sq mi (2,106.24/km2)