Time Zones of North America | North America Time Zone Map

Time Zones of North America | North America Time Zone Map

The Central Time Zone (CT) is a Time Zone Map of North America Country Canada, the United States, Mexico, Central America, Some Caribbean Islands, and part of the Eastern Pacific Ocean. North America Time Zone Map has only a one-time zone for the entire country, so the time across the country is the same.

Central Standard Time is six hours behind the Coordinated Universal Time standard, written as an offset of UTC – 6:00. That means to find the standard Time Zone Map, you must subtract six hours from Coordinated Universal Time. The largest city in the Central Time Zone is Mexico City; the Mexico City metropolitan area is the largest metropolitan area in the zone and in North America.

Standard Time Zones in North America span from UTC – 3 hours/30 minutes in Newfoundland Canada to UTC – 9 hours in Alaska. If Greenland and Hawaii are included in the description of North American time zones then the time zones span from UTC + 0 in Danmarkshavn Greenland to UTC -10 in Hawaii.

Printable Time Zone Map of North America

The Basics of Time Zones

Before we dive into the specifics of the North America Time Zone Map, let’s establish a foundation of understanding. Time zones are divisions of the Earth’s surface, each encompassing a range of longitudes, with a standard time used within that zone. The primary purpose of time zones is to maintain consistency and avoid confusion caused by variations in time as one travels across different regions.

The North America Time Zone Map

North America is covered by several time zones, stretching from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific and beyond. The continent includes countries like the United States, Canada, Mexico, and various territories.

Time Zones of North America

AbbreviationFull nameOther abbreviationsTimezone
NSTNewfoundland Standard TimeHNTUTC – 3:30 hours
NDTNewfoundland Daylight TimeHATUTC – 2:30 hours
ASTAtlantic Standard TimeHNAUTC – 4 hours
ADTAtlantic Daylight TimeHAAUTC – 3 hours
ESTEastern Standard TimeHNEUTC – 5 hours
EDTEastern Daylight TimeHAEUTC – 4 hours
CSTCentral Standard TimeHNCUTC – 6 hours
CDTCentral Daylight TimeHACUTC – 5 hours
MSTMountain Standard TimeHNRUTC – 7 hours
MDTMountain Daylight TimeHARUTC – 6 hours
PSTPacific Standard TimeHNPUTC – 8 hours
PDTPacific Daylight TimeHAPUTC – 7 hours
AKSTAlaska Standard TimeHNYUTC – 9 hours
AKDTAlaska Daylight TimeHAYUTC – 8 hours
HASTHawaii-Aleutian Standard TimeHSTUTC – 10 hours
HADTHawaii-Aleutian Daylight TimeUTC – 9 hours

North America Time Zones

Five common time zones are observed in both countries; Atlantic, Eastern, Central, Mountain, and Pacific Time Zones. time zone map North America observes 11 time zones between UTC-10 to UTC.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

TOPICS >   | Maps | Fokhrul